Jump to content


How to synchronize MS SQL 2008 database with MS Windows 2008 Active Di


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 AJ768

AJ768

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mumbai
  • Interests:Technology & Speed

Posted 29 April 2010 - 07:47 PM

How to synchronize MS SQL 2008 database with MS Windows 2008 Active Directory? So that, the new joinne information filled in ERP (which has sql 2008 database) automatically sync & update AD user information (the one which is reflected in outlook GAL); Please Advice.

Thanks, AJ
  • 0

#2 Lethe

Lethe

    Insanity's Crescendo

  • Veterans
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2842 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:...

Posted 30 April 2010 - 04:29 PM

Not sure I've understood it correctly, you have an ERP software used to track users in your company (or other kind of information) which uses SQL 2008 to store informations and want that the informations filled in the ERP get reflected into your AD/Exchange environment right?

Well to the best of my knowledge that's not a SQL Server task but something that should be done by the ERP itself, SQL is just the database backend not the application itself.

Lethe.
  • 0

#3 AJ768

AJ768

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mumbai
  • Interests:Technology & Speed

Posted 03 May 2010 - 03:47 PM

Not sure I've understood it correctly, you have an ERP software used to track users in your company (or other kind of information) which uses SQL 2008 to store informations and want that the informations filled in the ERP get reflected into your AD/Exchange environment right?

Well to the best of my knowledge that's not a SQL Server task but something that should be done by the ERP itself, SQL is just the database backend not the application itself.

Lethe.


Yes, You are right..we are using a ERP software (Microsoft Dynamics AXAPTA) which uses SQL 2008 & the data entered by HR in that ERP is manually (copy-paste) updated by IT in AD/Exchange.

Is there a 3rd party tool which can do this automatically?

Thanks, AJ

Edited by AJ768, 03 May 2010 - 03:47 PM.

  • 0

#4 Lethe

Lethe

    Insanity's Crescendo

  • Veterans
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2842 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:...

Posted 03 May 2010 - 10:24 PM

In total honesty I have no idea as my experience is in other parts of the IT, have you tried googling for something like this?

Lethe.
  • 0

#5 AJ768

AJ768

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mumbai
  • Interests:Technology & Speed

Posted 03 May 2010 - 10:35 PM

In total honesty I have no idea as my experience is in other parts of the IT, have you tried googling for something like this?

Lethe.


yes, I have tried googling...but, did not find any useful help for the same;

Thanks, AJ
  • 0

#6 AJ768

AJ768

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mumbai
  • Interests:Technology & Speed

Posted 10 May 2010 - 07:02 PM

Below is the reply i got from one of our Tech Support Team...i have asked our ERP team to try the same on test server...lets see if it works!

fyi...

"Yes, there is possibility of synchronizing sql in AD"

Steps:-
1. To register a SQL Server in Active Directory use below query.

DECLARE @RetCode INT
EXEC @RetCode = sp_ActiveDirectory_SCP @Action = N'create'
PRINT 'Return code = ' + CAST(@RetCode AS VARCHAR)

For More Information visit :
http://msdn.microsof...259575(v=SQL.80).aspx

2. To register a database in Active Directory use below query.

DECLARE @RetCode INT
EXEC @RetCode = sp_ActiveDirectory_Obj @Action = N'create',
@ObjType = N'database',
@ObjName = N'Your Database Name'
PRINT 'Return code = ' + CAST(@RetCode AS VARCHAR)

For More Information visit :
http://msdn.microsof...y/ms180217.aspx

Note : Make sure “MSSQLSERVERADhelper service “ is on manual mode and it should not be running.

Edited by AJ768, 10 May 2010 - 07:03 PM.

  • 0





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users