Jump to content


Two Wireless in the same area...


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
9 replies to this topic

#1 concico

concico

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 193 posts

Posted 24 February 2011 - 01:12 AM

Hi all...

i have a big problem...

i have to cover the same area with two different wireless network...

The two wirelss network are Mesh and must use different device (i have two different vendors, i have to use different APs and controllers)

The standard must be 802.11n for both...

How is possible to cover the same area with different wireless network???

The problem is that i have also two backhault, it is Mesh, so is not possible to use 2.4 Ghz for one wireless network and 5.4 for the other one


Any help is very greatly appreciated...

Thanks
  • 0

#2 sirkozz

sirkozz

    Wireless Expert

  • Technical Experts
  • PipPipPip
  • 375 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:always somewere in North America

Posted 24 February 2011 - 03:38 AM

Could you post a pic?
You can't VLAN the networks?
  • 0

#3 MejDam

MejDam

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside, CA

Posted 05 August 2011 - 02:48 AM

Hi all...

i have a big problem...

i have to cover the same area with two different wireless network...

The two wirelss network are Mesh and must use different device (i have two different vendors, i have to use different APs and controllers)

The standard must be 802.11n for both...

How is possible to cover the same area with different wireless network???

The problem is that i have also two backhault, it is Mesh, so is not possible to use 2.4 Ghz for one wireless network and 5.4 for the other one


Any help is very greatly appreciated...

Thanks



Why not use different channels?
  • 0

#4 sirkozz

sirkozz

    Wireless Expert

  • Technical Experts
  • PipPipPip
  • 375 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:always somewere in North America

Posted 07 August 2011 - 12:15 AM

At most you have 3 channels in the 2.4GHz ISM band, 1,6, and 11, 2 WLAN’s operating on the same band in the same space is a recipe for disaster as there are not enough channels to go around, you can do it on the 5GHz UNI bands as there can be more 3 times the channels depending on the regulatory domain, but can still be tricky, also note that this is a mesh WLAN meaning you also have to account for the backhaul channelization and the fact that channel separation of the backhaul can be more important than proper channelization of the access radios, because any added latency, RF retries due to layer 1 collisions can bring any WLAN to a stop very quickly.

btw don’t bump an old post, just ask a new question.
  • 0

#5 Pawan_Bhattarai

Pawan_Bhattarai

    Super Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 534 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India-J&K
  • Interests:Only Networks !!!!!!

Posted 10 August 2011 - 09:08 PM

"How is possible to cover the same area with different wireless network???"

APs on Different Channels and bridged to LAN.



AP1(Channel11) AP2(channel1)
| |
-------------------------------
|
S E R V E R Room
  • 0

#6 sirkozz

sirkozz

    Wireless Expert

  • Technical Experts
  • PipPipPip
  • 375 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:always somewere in North America

Posted 11 August 2011 - 01:04 AM

Pawan this is a mesh WLAN, not an access only WLAN, most AP’s will connect to the LAN via radio backhaul, not to the LAN as in a conventional WLAN where every AP has a wired connection to the LAN.

Years ago I had a client that demanded 100% redundancy by locating 2 AP’s at every AP location, this was old Symbol Mobius gear, and spent about a week tweaking the channels to get it to work, never worked good, just worked enough. When the customer recently replaced the WLAN with Moto AP650’s had to go back onsite and spent 2 days getting things to work. Things worked much better with the 650’s simply because I could turn off all non- OFDM rates, however if the customer had just shut off half the AP’s the WLAN would have worked flawlessly.

Now consider this in a mesh environment and let’s assume that 2.4GHz is used for access and 5GHz for backhaul. 2 AP’s at the same location, say channels 6 & 11 for access and channels 161 & 165 for backhaul. What is your access channel reuse pattern gone to look like, there is no way to even achieve 10dB channel separation between AP’s, let alone trying to maintain the standard 20dB. Look at the backhaul you have 5 channels that can be used without having to use DFS, so that means a maximum of 2.5 bridge links in a given area, that’s .5 less than the normally engineered 3, meaning that you will have interference or 1 less backhaul link, resulting in either increased layer 1 retries or increased latency. If this is a data only network it might be tolerable, but imagine running video and voice on either or both networks simultaneously. I think you see what I’m saying that it’s not that they can’t operate at the same time but that neither will work well.
  • 0

#7 arielbarriga

arielbarriga

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 25 August 2011 - 10:07 AM

Hi just want to follow with you. How's it going with your wireless networks?

Hi all...

i have a big problem...

i have to cover the same area with two different wireless network...

The two wirelss network are Mesh and must use different device (i have two different vendors, i have to use different APs and controllers)

The standard must be 802.11n for both...

How is possible to cover the same area with different wireless network???

The problem is that i have also two backhault, it is Mesh, so is not possible to use 2.4 Ghz for one wireless network and 5.4 for the other one


Any help is very greatly appreciated...

Thanks


  • 0

#8 changbietgi

changbietgi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 September 2011 - 03:57 AM

"How is possible to cover the same area with different wireless network???"

APs on Different Channels and bridged to LAN.



AP1(Channel11) AP2(channel1)
| |
-------------------------------
|
S E R V E R Room

you should use different channels for each AP as 1,6,12
  • 0

#9 sirkozz

sirkozz

    Wireless Expert

  • Technical Experts
  • PipPipPip
  • 375 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:always somewere in North America

Posted 12 September 2011 - 12:54 AM

Guys don't take this the wrong way but if you don't understand my post from August 10th please don't respond with "put the AP's on different channels".

Repeat 2 WLAN's using the same frequency band cannot co-exist without problems.

REPEAT 2 WLAN'S USING THE SAME FREQUENCY BAND CANNOT CO-EXIST WITHOUT PROBLEMS!

REPEAT 2 WLAN'S USING THE SAME FREQUENCY BAND CANNOT CO-EXIST WITHOUT PROBLEMS!!!

you can't change the laws of physics, can ya???

mods please close
  • 0

#10 mip104

mip104

    V.I.P. Member

  • Veterans
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4046 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 September 2011 - 01:28 AM

CLOSED
  • 0





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users