11 replies to this topic

#1 stormshade69

stormshade69

• Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts

Posted 28 February 2012 - 06:12 AM

hello Masters,

just want to ask your expert opinions on which to take/buy CBT/exam after i studied.
id like to shift my career into security my specialization now is performance/load testing(LoadRunner)

CEH(ecouncil) or CPTE(mile2)
i can only see the COST as a PRO/CONS

CEH online course(CBT/live video) CPTE online course(CBT/live video)
750USD 500/550

exam voucher exam voucher
500USD 250USD

how about career/professional life wise?
those who are CEH or CPTE holders i really appreciate if you can comment on this

thanks in advance

#2 quake566

quake566

• Validating
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 17 April 2012 - 02:21 AM

Hi stormshade69,

I've been a pentester for about two years. I can honestly say that I have never heard of the CPTE course before seeing your link. That doesn't mean it's no good, just that I have no idea about it. C|EH is a different matter. This is quite common. Your sig says you're wondering about OSCP. This is great and I'll be doing the course as soon as possible. C|EH = basics really, think Network+. OSCP = Intermediate (IMHO), Think CCNP.

Hope this is in time for you! Anyone else care to comment?

#3 Be Quick Or Be Dead!

Be Quick Or Be Dead!

Retired and Rusted

• Validating
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1530 posts

Posted 18 April 2012 - 05:27 AM

HI

C|EH 7 has a good curricullum. Post C|EH the only certification I loved is CHFI.

Regred the delayed response.

Cheers!

#4 Be Quick Or Be Dead!

Be Quick Or Be Dead!

Retired and Rusted

• Validating
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1530 posts

Posted 18 April 2012 - 05:28 AM

OSCP is not recognised too well outside the Pen Testing network. You get that certification you stick to pen testing for atleast 3-5 years. CEH of CHFIs are regarded as Securlty consultatnts.

My perspective I could be wrong.

#5 kamtec1

kamtec1

Microsoft Servers Expert

• Technical Experts
  • PipPipPipPip