Jump to content


win7 win firewall blocking by domain name


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 sirkozz

sirkozz

    Wireless Expert

  • Technical Experts
  • PipPipPip
  • 375 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:always somewere in North America

Posted 02 December 2012 - 06:01 AM

is it possible to block a domain name on stand-alone win7 using win firewall?

tia
  • 0

#2 martinlo

martinlo

    V.I.P. Member

  • Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2697 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Land Of 10,000 Lakes

Posted 03 December 2012 - 10:29 AM

not sure; but if u know IP of such domain, then block IP
or would blocking DNS resolution port 53 work? (is it port 53?)
  • 0

#3 sirkozz

sirkozz

    Wireless Expert

  • Technical Experts
  • PipPipPip
  • 375 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:always somewere in North America

Posted 04 December 2012 - 04:33 AM

The reason I ask is I want to block google and all forms of it and just wondered if there was a way to block by domain name vs. IP.

tia
  • 0

#4 martinlo

martinlo

    V.I.P. Member

  • Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2697 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Land Of 10,000 Lakes

Posted 04 December 2012 - 05:54 AM

block IPs

Pinging googlemail.l.google.com [74.125.225.149] with 32 by

Reply from 74.125.225.149: bytes=32 time=147ms TTL=54

Ping statistics for 74.125.225.149:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 90ms, Maximum = 147ms, Average = 117ms

Pinging google.com [74.125.225.5] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 74.125.225.5: bytes=32 time=57ms TTL=54
Reply from 74.125.225.5: bytes=32 time=59ms TTL=54
  • 0

#5 sirkozz

sirkozz

    Wireless Expert

  • Technical Experts
  • PipPipPip
  • 375 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:always somewere in North America

Posted 04 December 2012 - 09:55 AM

Martin I get it nslookup and all that kinda stuff just that google has multiple IP’s and multiple domains that I need to block and was just wondering if there was an easier way then by IP.

Thanx for you help

Btw any real fall weather in MN, haven’t had a decent snowfall yet and I live in Northen New England, 52° today wtf?
  • 0

#6 martinlo

martinlo

    V.I.P. Member

  • Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2697 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Land Of 10,000 Lakes

Posted 04 December 2012 - 10:36 AM

a bit of snow we had is gone now but today we had 54 *F at noon; cold air is coming from Canada; dam$% Canada
  • 0





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users