Jump to content


Vlans and vtp question


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 lonley boy

lonley boy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 22 March 2013 - 10:26 PM

hi evrey body,

 

I need to know why i need transparent mode in the switch to make extended vlans ?

 

what if i need to make this vlans on server mode to be easy for me to transfers it to all clients mode?

 

finally , what is actually extended vlans mean

 

 

thanks


  • 0

#2 martinlo

martinlo

    V.I.P. Member

  • Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2697 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Land Of 10,000 Lakes

Posted 23 March 2013 - 12:44 AM

who told you about need for transparent mode;  some old switches do not support extended vlans; only 1-1005;

VTP modes are independent of # supported vlans


  • 0

#3 lonley boy

lonley boy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 23 March 2013 - 09:46 PM

ok look for this link

 

http://www.networker...ded-vlan-range/

 

and i read it before on cisco site

 

it needs transparent !! but why


  • 0

#4 martinlo

martinlo

    V.I.P. Member

  • Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2697 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Land Of 10,000 Lakes

Posted 24 March 2013 - 04:12 AM

You are right; you need VTP 3 or transparent mode on VTP 1&2;  SWITCH Book says this is limitation of 1&2. I guess when Cisco designed VTP, they did not expect so many Vlans will be needed; You link says extended vlans are "mainly used in service provider networks to allow the provisioning of number of customers".  This would be with Private Vlans which also must be set up in Transparent mode.

 

Vlan ID field is 12 bits long supporting Vlan numbers 1 thru 4094 as specified by IEEE 802.1Q standard. To comply with IEEE standard, Cisco makes "vlan extended range" optional, enabled only when the switch is configured for VTP transparent. I think term "extended vlan" is Cisco-specific term.

 

Note: there is a difference between range of vlans and max number of supported vlans by a switch; only 4500 and 6500 switches support 4094 numbers of vlans; Other switches like 3560 and 3550 support only 1004 number of vlans.


Edited by martinlo, 24 March 2013 - 06:18 AM.

  • 0

#5 lonley boy

lonley boy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 24 March 2013 - 05:50 PM

Thanks For Your Reply :)


  • 0

#6 Gökhan

Gökhan

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts

Posted 25 March 2015 - 08:30 PM

Hi,

To better understand the VLAN cases better check the below link ;) enjoy...

  • 0





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users