#1 vin1801

vin1801

• Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 20 November 2008 - 07:44 PM

Hi Friends,

I have a question from the BSCI Official Exam Certification Guide, chapter 4 :

3. What happens immediately after the network command is configured?
a. Updates are sent.
b. The routing table is created.
c. Hellos are sent on appropriate interfaces.
d. Networks are advertised.

The answer mentioned in the book is option "b" which I think is wrong, because even if we don't run eigrp and its network command, the routing table is already created, for example when you enter the "sh ip route" command all the directly connected networks and any static networks configured are displayed.
The correct answer should be "c". Please someone clarify on this.

- Vin.

#2 jafar2048

jafar2048

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 416 posts

Posted 20 November 2008 - 08:14 PM

Hello there,

Yes, I think you're right,

A is wrong, because updates are exchanged between routers only after they have become neighbors and when there is a change in network topology. When a new router joins the EIGRP AS, other routers will send/receive updates but the new router will first of all form adjacency (sending/receiving Hello/ACK packets) with its directly connected neighbors (according to EIGRP adjacency conditions).

B is definitely wrong for exactly the same reason you mentioned.

D is wrong, because for being able to advertise any network with a neighbor router, first of all the EIGRP adjaceny conditions
(same K values, exchange of Hello/ACK packets, same AS) must be satisfied.

C is the correct answer according to EIGRP specification.

Besides in the book "EIGRP network design solutions" written by Ivan Pepelnjak at the page 9 you can read: