Jump to content


Configuring CM List


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Wilric44

Wilric44

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

Posted 24 October 2010 - 11:16 AM

I have been having some problems with my ip phone registering the ip address. I used a static ip address on the phone and now it is humg up COnfiguring a CM list. I am trying to move forward in my certification for CCVP but this part is difficult. I was able to configre my router a 2811 for pots to call over the PSTN, which took some work. I thought the IP phone would be less difficult. I have used almost every configuration I could find to get it too work. Any help would be great.

dial-peer voice 5 voip
shutdown
session protocol sipv2
session target ipv4:192.168.1.1
!
dial-peer voice 50 voip
destination-pattern xxxxxxx
session target ipv4:192.168.1.1
!
dial-peer voice 60 voip
destination-pattern .T
session target ipv4:192.168.1.1
!
!
!
!
telephony-service
max-ephones 42
max-dn 144
ip source-address 192.168.1.1 port 2000
load 7960-7940 P00307020300
voicemail xxxxxxxx
max-conferences 8 gain -6
transfer-system full-consult
create cnf-files version-stamp 7960 Oct 23 2010 17:29:04
!
!
ephone-dn 11
number xxxxxxxxx
!
!
ephone 1
device-security-mode none
mac-address xxxx.xxxx.xxxx
type 7940

I would even take a basic configuration. I am trying to use my 7940 to call my cell phone. I was able to complete this task using my POTS phone. What am I confiring wrong?
  • 0

#2 Darby Weaver

Darby Weaver

    V.I.P. Member

  • Honorary members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 8264 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 24 October 2010 - 11:30 AM

Let's start very simple and I'll check your config and maybe offer a little advice along the way.

1. You say the phone is having trouble registering?

We need to get the phone to the CME first don't you agree?

What does your DHCP config look like?

Can you get an IP Address for your PC for example first? Then for the phone - does it get the IP? Does it load the config from the CME? What is its TFTP Server?

Do you have the correct IP Phone images loaded and advertised for download?

Are they not fine and not corrupt?

Do you have the option 150 setup correctly?

Can 2 phones talk from the same CME?

Where's the rest of the 2811 config?
  • 0

#3 Darby Weaver

Darby Weaver

    V.I.P. Member

  • Honorary members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 8264 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 24 October 2010 - 11:32 AM

I'm concerned a bit. You say you've been using configs you found versus created.

That's great. Now why are you studying for the CCVP again? I'd hope to become the expert.

So...

Let's work on understanding the process and then we'll talk configs - ok?

If your analog phone works great, we need to get the IP Phone registered before it can make those outside calls - agreed?
  • 0

#4 Darby Weaver

Darby Weaver

    V.I.P. Member

  • Honorary members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 8264 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 24 October 2010 - 11:35 AM

Static IP Address - Sounds great...

And then...

Then you still need to configure a TFTP Server to download the image.

Then you still need to get the list of CMs... from somewhere... how does the phone know this by itself?

I like DHCP myself...

But you want static so... there's more you owe the phone if you want to talk.
  • 0

#5 24825

24825

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 139 posts

Posted 24 October 2010 - 11:38 AM

You need a TFTP server setting. The TFTP setting is what is used to pull the CM list from the CME. You also need to either assign a button to the ephone or allow auto assign under the telephony settings.
  • 0

#6 Darby Weaver

Darby Weaver

    V.I.P. Member

  • Honorary members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 8264 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 24 October 2010 - 11:39 AM

Disable DHCP and DNS to Test a Phone
Your phone can display one of these messages:

DNS Error or Configuring IP

Opening <IP address of Call Manager>

Configuring CM List

You can easily determine if you have a faulty phone or a faulty configuration. Reset the phone to the factory default configuration, and then hard code all the necessary IP parameters into the phone. This eliminates the possibility of DHCP and DNS issues.



Sounds like you got...

Mambo number 3...
  • 0

#7 Darby Weaver

Darby Weaver

    V.I.P. Member

  • Honorary members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 8264 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 24 October 2010 - 11:45 AM

Step 1:

CME_Voice # archive tar / Xtract tftp: / / 172.16.10.1/cme-full-4.3.0.0.tar flash

Step 2:

CME_Voice (config) # tftp-server flash: / alias phone/7940-7960/P00308000500.bin P00308000500.bin
CME_Voice (config) # the tftp-server flash: / alias phone/7940-7960/P00308000500.loads P00308000500.loads
CME_Voice (config) # tftp-server flash: / alias phone/7940-7960/P00308000500.sb2 P00308000500.sb2
CME_Voice (config) # tftp-server flash: / alias phone/7940-7960/P00308000500.sbn P00308000500.sbn

Step 3:

CME_Voice (config) # tftp-server flash: / alias phone/7970-7971/apps70.8-3-2-27.sbn apps70.8-3-2-27.sbn
CME_Voice (config) # tftp-server flash: / alias phone/7970-7971/cnu70.8-3-2-27.sbn cnu70.8-3-2-27.sbn
CME_Voice (config) # tftp-server flash: / alias phone/7970-7971/cvm70sccp.8-3-2-27.sbn cvm70sccp.8-3-2-27.sbn
CME_Voice (config) # tftp-server flash: / alias phone/7970-7971/dsp70.8-3-2-27.sbn dsp70.8-3-2-27.sbn
CME_Voice (config) # tftp-server flash: / alias phone/7970-7971/jar70sccp.8-3-2-27.sbn jar70sccp.8-3-2-27.sbn
CME_Voice (config) # tftp-server flash: / alias phone/7970-7971/SCCP70.8-3-3S.loads SCCP70.8-3-3S.loads
CME_Voice (config) # tftp-server flash unit: / alias phone/7970-7971/term70.default.loads term70.default.loads
CME_Voice (config) # tftp-server flash: / alias phone/7970-7971/term71.default.loads term71.default.loads
7970-3-load SCCP70.8 3S.loads
Updating CNF files
CNF files update complete
CME_Voice (config-telephony) # load 7971 SCCP70.8-3-3S.loads
Updating CNF files
CNF files update complete


Step 4:

Generating IP Phone Configuration Files
CME_Voice (config-telephony) # create cnf-files
CNF file creation is Already On
Updating CNF files
CNF files update complete



Verification:

Verify you can reach this ip from the subnet where the statically assigned phone is at:

ip source-address 192.168.1.1 port 2000
  • 0

#8 Darby Weaver

Darby Weaver

    V.I.P. Member

  • Honorary members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 8264 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 24 October 2010 - 11:47 AM

That should do it.

You need to do the same step for your phones.

Static config ought to be easier than DHCP technically...

But the files have to be there and I think we nailed it.

Try and see please.

Darby
  • 0

#9 Wilric44

Wilric44

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

Posted 26 October 2010 - 02:55 AM

Let's start very simple and I'll check your config and maybe offer a little advice along the way.

1. You say the phone is having trouble registering?

We need to get the phone to the CME first don't you agree?

What does your DHCP config look like?

Can you get an IP Address for your PC for example first? Then for the phone - does it get the IP? Does it load the config from the CME? What is its TFTP Server?

Do you have the correct IP Phone images loaded and advertised for download?

Are they not fine and not corrupt?

Do you have the option 150 setup correctly?

Can 2 phones talk from the same CME?

Where's the rest of the 2811 config?


I did not set the option 150. Can I use an IP phone without a TFTP server? The CBT nugget does give much information for VOIP but POTS was easy to configure. I am using a static IP. The phone is not registering with the DHCP server, which is run by my Windows Server 2008. What I am thinkink is the phone is not using the 2008 Server DHCP server. I can ping the network from the switch. I sed the POTS phones to talk through the CME so I know it works over the internet.

Do you have the correct IP Phone images loaded and advertised for download?

Now do I need the same image on the TFTP server that is on the phone. SCCP is on the IP phone. The rest of the configuration really does not apply NAT and everything else is working fine. ITs the telephony service and dial peers that I am trying to configure.
  • 0

#10 Wilric44

Wilric44

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

Posted 26 October 2010 - 02:58 AM

I'm concerned a bit. You say you've been using configs you found versus created.

That's great. Now why are you studying for the CCVP again? I'd hope to become the expert.

So...

Let's work on understanding the process and then we'll talk configs - ok?

If your analog phone works great, we need to get the IP Phone registered before it can make those outside calls - agreed?



The only way to become a CCVP is to study. Before I move on to CIPT 1 I want to m ake sure I got the basics down. I am not a dumper so I take my studying serious.
Yes that is what is troubling me, Jeremy makes it seem so simple but the 7940 phone is giving me a headache. If i do not use a static IP address it hangs and configuring an IP address. MY thought is that the phone is not accessing my DNS server.

Should the source IP address be the DHCP server or the default router?

Edited by Wilric44, 26 October 2010 - 03:24 AM.

  • 0

#11 Wilric44

Wilric44

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

Posted 26 October 2010 - 03:16 AM

Step 1:

CME_Voice # archive tar / Xtract tftp: / / 172.16.10.1/cme-full-4.3.0.0.tar flash

Step 2:

CME_Voice (config) # tftp-server flash: / alias phone/7940-7960/P00308000500.bin P00308000500.bin
CME_Voice (config) # the tftp-server flash: / alias phone/7940-7960/P00308000500.loads P00308000500.loads
CME_Voice (config) # tftp-server flash: / alias phone/7940-7960/P00308000500.sb2 P00308000500.sb2
CME_Voice (config) # tftp-server flash: / alias phone/7940-7960/P00308000500.sbn P00308000500.sbn

Step 3:

CME_Voice (config) # tftp-server flash: / alias phone/7970-7971/apps70.8-3-2-27.sbn apps70.8-3-2-27.sbn
CME_Voice (config) # tftp-server flash: / alias phone/7970-7971/cnu70.8-3-2-27.sbn cnu70.8-3-2-27.sbn
CME_Voice (config) # tftp-server flash: / alias phone/7970-7971/cvm70sccp.8-3-2-27.sbn cvm70sccp.8-3-2-27.sbn
CME_Voice (config) # tftp-server flash: / alias phone/7970-7971/dsp70.8-3-2-27.sbn dsp70.8-3-2-27.sbn
CME_Voice (config) # tftp-server flash: / alias phone/7970-7971/jar70sccp.8-3-2-27.sbn jar70sccp.8-3-2-27.sbn
CME_Voice (config) # tftp-server flash: / alias phone/7970-7971/SCCP70.8-3-3S.loads SCCP70.8-3-3S.loads
CME_Voice (config) # tftp-server flash unit: / alias phone/7970-7971/term70.default.loads term70.default.loads
CME_Voice (config) # tftp-server flash: / alias phone/7970-7971/term71.default.loads term71.default.loads
7970-3-load SCCP70.8 3S.loads
Updating CNF files
CNF files update complete
CME_Voice (config-telephony) # load 7971 SCCP70.8-3-3S.loads
Updating CNF files
CNF files update complete


Step 4:

Generating IP Phone Configuration Files
CME_Voice (config-telephony) # create cnf-files
CNF file creation is Already On
Updating CNF files
CNF files update complete



Verification:

Verify you can reach this ip from the subnet where the statically assigned phone is at:

ip source-address 192.168.1.1 port 2000


Question

1. What is the purpose of the TFTP server if the router is creating the CNF files. Is the a show command to check the CNF files?

I know I do not have the TFTP server setup, I do not have the software for the IP phone to register with the TFTP server. In the CBT nuggets CVOICE all Jeremey did was creat a dial peer and point it to an IP address. From what I have read, it seems that he must have done a lot more in the background to make the call. It could be that he was just using two routers with a serial cable which is easy to configure.

I am using:
Version 7.0(1)
Cisco Unified Communications Manager Express

Thanks Darby you seem to be like me jack of al trades with no limits to learning.

Edited by Wilric44, 26 October 2010 - 03:31 AM.

  • 0

#12 Wilric44

Wilric44

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

Posted 26 October 2010 - 03:20 AM

Static IP Address - Sounds great...

And then...

Then you still need to configure a TFTP Server to download the image.

Then you still need to get the list of CMs... from somewhere... how does the phone know this by itself?

I like DHCP myself...

But you want static so... there's more you owe the phone if you want to talk.


Ok the TFTP server is downloading the CNF files from the router that makes since. When you say I need to get the CM list from somewhere, exactly what do you mean. I have gotten the phone to take the static IP address, where do I get this CM list.
  • 0





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users