Jump to content


ping 192.168.1.255


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Castel

Castel

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts

Posted 29 November 2010 - 12:23 AM

hey when i pinged 192.168.1.255 i received a reply. Who responds to this ping ?
  • 0

#2 faisal.saleem

faisal.saleem

    $ïιεη† ⊕pεrα†⊕r

  • Veterans
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kuwait
  • Interests:IT/Telcom

Posted 29 November 2010 - 12:29 AM

But when i ping 192.168.1.255 then i gets request timeout.. why?????


Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright © 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\faisal>ping 192.168.1.255

Pinging 192.168.1.255 with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.255:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Users\faisal>
  • 0

#3 faisal.saleem

faisal.saleem

    $ïιεη† ⊕pεrα†⊕r

  • Veterans
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kuwait
  • Interests:IT/Telcom

Posted 29 November 2010 - 12:32 AM

hey when i pinged 192.168.1.255 i received a reply. Who responds to this ping ?


what is your IP Address?

hmmm mine is like this


C:\Users\faisal>ipconfig

Windows IP Configuration


Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : f880::b1c9:9e27:324b:8dc2
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.4
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
  • 0

#4 faisal.saleem

faisal.saleem

    $ïιεη† ⊕pεrα†⊕r

  • Veterans
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kuwait
  • Interests:IT/Telcom

Posted 29 November 2010 - 12:39 AM

Perhaps i am trying to find out that why you are getting response?

See here ==> http://support.microsoft.com/kb/137421

"If the PING command is used to a broadcast address, some devices will respond"
  • 0

#5 faisal.saleem

faisal.saleem

    $ïιεη† ⊕pεrα†⊕r

  • Veterans
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kuwait
  • Interests:IT/Telcom

Posted 29 November 2010 - 12:44 AM

Now i am also confused on this dilemma that if a device doest not exist then who and how we can get response from a broadcast address?
  • 0

#6 Castel

Castel

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts

Posted 29 November 2010 - 05:43 PM

Yeah can someone please shed some light on this because iam totally confused over this broadcast ping issue. Yeah who responds to this broadcast ping.
  • 0

#7 MarkinManchester

MarkinManchester

    Village Elder

  • Veterans
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3956 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester

Posted 29 November 2010 - 06:33 PM

Hi

The gateway address for that net responds

IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.11
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1

ICMP packet debugging is on
Gate#term
Gate#terminal mon
Gate#terminal monitor
Gate#
ICMP: echo reply sent, src 192.168.2.1, dst 192.168.2.11, topology BASE, dscp 0 topoid 0
Gate#
ICMP: echo reply sent, src 192.168.2.1, dst 192.168.2.11, topology BASE, dscp 0 topoid 0
Gate#
ICMP: echo reply sent, src 192.168.2.1, dst 192.168.2.11, topology BASE, dscp 0 topoid 0
ICMP: echo reply sent, src 192.168.2.1, dst 192.168.2.11, topology BASE, dscp 0 topoid 0
Gate#

Mark
  • 0

#8 laf_c

laf_c

    Firewalls&Routing specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1787 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romania
  • Interests:Networking, tenis and chess

Posted 29 November 2010 - 06:38 PM

hey when i pinged 192.168.1.255 i received a reply. Who responds to this ping ?


You received a reply? Can t you see the source?

It is how the command is implemented on the OS:
- Cisco and Linux works the same: when you ping the broadcast address it will effectively send echo-requests to the whole "broadcast domain".
- Windows does nothing and simply tries to reach that broadcast domain. As this address doesn't exist, you will receive no reply.

Some output:

Cisco-2811#ping 192.168.1.255

Type escape sequence to abort.
Sending 5, 100-byte ICMP Echos to 192.168.1.255, timeout is 2 seconds:

Reply to request 0 from 192.168.1.251, 4 ms
Reply to request 0 from 192.168.1.241, 4 ms
Reply to request 0 from 192.168.1.240, 4 ms
Reply to request 0 from 192.168.1.110, 4 ms
Reply to request 0 from 192.168.1.180, 4 ms
Reply to request 0 from 192.168.1.111, 4 ms


[root@centos_2~]# ping 192.168.1.255 -b
WARNING: pinging broadcast address
PING 192.168.1.255 (192.168.1.255) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.1.55: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.381 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.50: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.680 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 192.168.1.99: icmp_seq=1 ttl=255 time=0.690 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=255 time=1.08 ms (DUP!)
64 bytes from 192.168.1.242: icmp_seq=1 ttl=255 time=43.1 ms (DUP!)

Edited by laf_c, 29 November 2010 - 06:38 PM.

  • 0

#9 chrcel

chrcel

    Cisco Voice and Apps Expert

  • Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2121 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 29 November 2010 - 09:12 PM

hey laf,

excellent answer! I know about linux and cisco, but I was often puzzled by the behavior of Windows -- and was blaming it on MS's implementation of IP stack.

cheers!





  • 1

#10 24825

24825

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 139 posts

Posted 29 November 2010 - 10:42 PM

RFC-1122

3.2.2.6 Echo Request/Reply: RFC-792

Every host MUST implement an ICMP Echo server function that
receives Echo Requests and sends corresponding Echo Replies.
A host SHOULD also implement an application-layer interface
for sending an Echo Request and receiving an Echo Reply, for
diagnostic purposes.

An ICMP Echo Request destined to an IP broadcast or IP
multicast address MAY be silently discarded.


http://support.microsoft.com/kb/137421

So MS discards pings to broadcasts since NT 3.5. Is there a way to enable this function in the registry or something?

Edited by 24825, 29 November 2010 - 10:46 PM.

  • 0

#11 Castel

Castel

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts

Posted 30 November 2010 - 12:34 AM

Hey iam on windows vista and i received a ping reply. I don't understand what you guys are talking about ?
  • 0

#12 24825

24825

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 139 posts

Posted 30 November 2010 - 01:27 AM

Hey iam on windows vista and i received a ping reply. I don't understand what you guys are talking about ?


Did you receive a reply from yourself or was it a different address that responded, like maybe your router? I never said anything about outgoing echos. I haven't received an echo reply from an MS platform. Usually the only platforms that respond are switches, routers, and linux devices.
  • 0

#13 Castel

Castel

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts

Posted 30 November 2010 - 04:35 AM

is there a security risk associated with a broadcast address. Is this the reason why some devices do not respond to a broadcast ping ?
  • 0





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users