Jump to content


whats TTL mean in Ping?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 ANILSHARMA

ANILSHARMA

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts

Posted 01 February 2011 - 05:18 AM

Hello,

When I ping, for example www.yahoo.com it returns a ttl value of 51. If I
ping www.gmail.com, it returns a value of 49 to 56.

C:\>ping www.yahoo.com
Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=250ms TTL=51
C:\>ping www.gmail.com
Reply from 209.85.231.83: bytes=32 time=64ms TTL=49


if i am ping our netowrk than he give 254 value.

C:\>ping X.X.X.X
Reply from X.X.X.X: bytes=32 time=50ms TTL=254


if ping any lan local than he give 128 value

C:\>ping X.X.X.X
Reply from 10.1.0.30: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

pls help me
  • 0

#2 MarkinManchester

MarkinManchester

    Village Elder

  • Veterans
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3969 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester

Posted 01 February 2011 - 05:37 AM

time to live

Mark
  • 0

#3 laf_c

laf_c

    Firewalls&Routing specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1787 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romania
  • Interests:Networking, tenis and chess

Posted 01 February 2011 - 06:06 AM

Hello,

When I ping, for example www.yahoo.com it returns a ttl value of 51. If I
ping www.gmail.com, it returns a value of 49 to 56.

C:\>ping www.yahoo.com
Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=250ms TTL=51
C:\>ping www.gmail.com
Reply from 209.85.231.83: bytes=32 time=64ms TTL=49


if i am ping our netowrk than he give 254 value.

C:\>ping X.X.X.X
Reply from X.X.X.X: bytes=32 time=50ms TTL=254


if ping any lan local than he give 128 value

C:\>ping X.X.X.X
Reply from 10.1.0.30: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

pls help me


Just go on WIKI for TTL; about values: usually starts with 255 for network equipments, 128 for Microsoft platform and 64 for Unix flavors.
  • 0

#4 ZigAA

ZigAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:lots...

Posted 01 February 2011 - 07:54 AM

Just go on WIKI for TTL; about values: usually starts with 255 for network equipments, 128 for Microsoft platform and 64 for Unix flavors.


Why are there different values? Depends which IP do you ping:

Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=215ms TTL=47
Reply from 208.80.152.2: bytes=32 time=221ms TTL=44
Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=215ms TTL=47

These are google, yahoo, wikipedia and I didn't modify TTL, but it's different for all sites. If I ping my default gateway= TTL=64
  • 0

#5 faisal.saleem

faisal.saleem

    $ïιεη† ⊕pεrα†⊕r

  • Veterans
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kuwait
  • Interests:IT/Telcom

Posted 01 February 2011 - 09:08 AM

Why are there different values? Depends which IP do you ping:

Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=215ms TTL=47
Reply from 208.80.152.2: bytes=32 time=221ms TTL=44
Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=215ms TTL=47

These are google, yahoo, wikipedia and I didn't modify TTL, but it's different for all sites. If I ping my default gateway= TTL=64


Hi,
As laf_c said these are different ttl values for different vendors and Operating systems versions. See this chart ==> http://www.binbert.c...ive-ttl-values/
So as you said that your default gateway is showing TTL=64 means that it can be netgear or any other hardware/OS which has value of 64 in that list.

HTH.

Edited by faisal.saleem, 01 February 2011 - 09:08 AM.

  • 0

#6 faisal.saleem

faisal.saleem

    $ïιεη† ⊕pεrα†⊕r

  • Veterans
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kuwait
  • Interests:IT/Telcom

Posted 01 February 2011 - 09:12 AM

In more easy wording if you ping a device and it gives you TTL = 254 then you must automatically understand that it can be a cisco router according to that default TTL list and same if you gets TTL = 128 then most likely you are pinging to a windows PC.
  • 0

#7 ZigAA

ZigAA

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:lots...

Posted 01 February 2011 - 05:41 PM

Hi,
As laf_c said these are different ttl values for different vendors and Operating systems versions. See this chart ==> http://www.binbert.c...ive-ttl-values/
So as you said that your default gateway is showing TTL=64 means that it can be netgear or any other hardware/OS which has value of 64 in that list.

HTH.


Interesting :) I see that end equipment replies with it's own TTL... My gateway with TTL=64 is Asus - it's not on that list. I tried to ping a few Cisco devices and reply was TTL 253,254,255.
  • 0

#8 faisal.saleem

faisal.saleem

    $ïιεη† ⊕pεrα†⊕r

  • Veterans
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kuwait
  • Interests:IT/Telcom

Posted 02 February 2011 - 07:21 AM

I tried to ping a few Cisco devices and reply was TTL 253,254,255.


Remember that there are 2 different things regarding TTL. One is that you can guess about the hardware/software platform of the remote device whom you are pinging.
The 2nd thing is that on every hop there would be one TTL decrement.
So i am pretty sure if you are pinging a Cisco device which in resulting gives you TTL = 253 means that there are may be 2 or 3 Layer hopes between you and that Cisco device.

You can do a simple test..
go in RUN==>CMD and then take the trace of www.yahoo.com as
C:\Users\faisal>tracert www.yahoo.com
So after finishing the trace output just try to ping the 2nd hop IP and then 3rd hop and then fourth and so on. So this would give you an idea how TTL decrement.
  • 0

#9 uthamaputiran

uthamaputiran

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 16 May 2011 - 11:18 AM

TTL means Time to Live,
TTL :
A timer value included in packets sent over TCP/IP-based networks that tells the recipients how long to hold or use the packet or any of its included data before expiring and discarding the packet or data. For DNS, TTL values are used in resource records within a zone to determine how long requesting clients should cache and use this information when it appears in a query response answered by a DNS server for the zone.
You can check the PING at here also
whoisxy.com

Edited by uthamaputiran, 16 May 2011 - 11:20 AM.

  • 0

#10 talent pk

talent pk

    Cisco Newbie

  • Technical Experts
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4028 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pakistan
  • Interests:Oracle

Posted 16 May 2011 - 04:02 PM

Hello,

When I ping, for example www.yahoo.com it returns a ttl value of 51. If I
ping www.gmail.com, it returns a value of 49 to 56.

C:\>ping www.yahoo.com
Reply from 72.30.2.43: bytes=32 time=250ms TTL=51
C:\>ping www.gmail.com
Reply from 209.85.231.83: bytes=32 time=64ms TTL=49


if i am ping our netowrk than he give 254 value.

C:\>ping X.X.X.X
Reply from X.X.X.X: bytes=32 time=50ms TTL=254


if ping any lan local than he give 128 value

C:\>ping X.X.X.X
Reply from 10.1.0.30: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

pls help me


Its a Layer 3 Loop-prevention mechanism of packets. packets with infinite life can live longer than dinosaurs
  • 0

#11 aijaz

aijaz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 23 May 2011 - 01:52 AM

TTL is Time To live. It is the no. of devices that you can successfully ping from source to destinations. For ex. If u r able to ping Yahoo.com and if it is showing a certain TTL value, it means that there are that many no of Hopcounts from source to destinations. For Cisco Routers it starts from 255, System with Windows OS from 128 and Non-Windows from 64.
  • 0





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users