Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
neoblue123

Is My A+ And Network+ Certs Useless?

9 posts in this topic

So I got both but Did I pay comptia a whole lot of money for no reason? I am new in the IT field but what I see many think these certs are so basic there not even worth getting so did I just waste $350 usd + the cost of books? so about $400

If you learnt something new and are wiser or more informed after taking the certs then, you have not wasted a penny, look at these certs as preparation for the harder ones to follow

ITG

I wouldn't say they're a waste. I mean, it really depends how far you're willing to take your IT career. They're a great way to give it a boost in the beginning, but hopefully you're not just going to stop there. Try to find a technology that you like working with and become a little more specialized. Needless to say, these days the average IT Professional is more or less expected to know the knowledge that you were tested on with the A+ and Network+ certification exams. See if you can offer employers something more, something that will make you stand out a bit and most importantly make you more useful for them. Do some research and find out what type of expertise companies in your area are looking for.

In the end, certifications don't mean everything and don't necessarily guarantee you a higher paying job. It seems to be a mix of talent, experience, and opportunity, but since you're new to the IT field, they will help you secure your first job(s). It's really up to you to steer your career in the right direction and make it grow. Never stop, but instead keep advancing forward. Remember that this is an everchanging field, as new technologies emerge and are improved upon.