Jump to content


[solved] Cisco 3662 Fails To Boot


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
10 replies to this topic

#1 Oleg Petrov

Oleg Petrov

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 227 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia, Moscow
  • Interests:Intelligent networks, digital voice processing, opensource software, *NIX operating systems.<br />Also hiking, fishing, skiing .

Posted 24 July 2006 - 04:59 PM

Hi all,
I have encountered a difficulty in booting my C3662.
Its internal flash card contains several images:

C3662#sh flash

System flash directory:
File Length Name/status
1 451126 mica-modem-pw.2.9.5.0.bin
2 19271228 c3660-is-mz.123-6c.bin
3 451168 pw0956.ios
4 30064 previous-startup
5 21349400 c3660-ik9s-mz.123-18.bin
6 14987852 c3660-is-mz.122-8.T.bin
[56541224 bytes used, 10043348 available, 66584572 total]
65536K bytes of processor board System flash (Read/Write)

I specified which image to use by issuing the following command:

boot system flash c3660-ik9s-mz.123-18.bin

However, the device fails to boot at next reload:

Proceed with reload? [confirm]
C3660 processor with 262144 Kbytes of main memory
Main memory is configured to 64 bit mode with parity disabled

loadprog: error - Invalid image for platform
e_machine = 40, cpu_type = 52
open: failed to find and/or load the bootloader: "flash:mica-modem-pw.2.9.5.0.bin"
loadprog: error - on file open
boot: cannot load "c3660-ik9s-mz.123-18.bin"

System Bootstrap, Version 12.0(6r)T, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
Copyright © 1999 by cisco Systems, Inc.
C3660 processor with 262144 Kbytes of main memory
Main memory is configured to 64 bit mode with parity disabled

loadprog: error - Invalid image for platform
e_machine = 40, cpu_type = 52
boot: cannot load "flash:"

After that, Cisco falls into ROMMON, in which an explicit boot command works successfully:
$$ boot flash:c3660-ik9s-mz.123-18.bin
program load complete, entry point: 0x80008000, size: 0x145c2d4
Self decompressing the image : ##################################

Have anyone ever experienced such a trouble?
Thanks in advance...

Edited by mgerdon, 04 November 2006 - 07:52 PM.

  • 0

#2 richerich

richerich

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 354 posts
  • Interests:UTP

Posted 24 July 2006 - 10:27 PM

Hello Oleg,

In the absense of someone knowing better.... and no I haven't experienced this...

Has this always happened? Or just started.

Does it boot using system flash command with any of the other images?

cheers

rich
  • 0

#3 Oleg Petrov

Oleg Petrov

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 227 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia, Moscow
  • Interests:Intelligent networks, digital voice processing, opensource software, *NIX operating systems.<br />Also hiking, fishing, skiing .

Posted 24 July 2006 - 11:26 PM

It started to happen when I downloaded the new software - to be exact, when I upgraded the IOS from
c3660-ik9s-mz.122-34.bin
to
c3660-ik9s-mz.123-18.bin

It turned out to be quite strange, but I managed to cure this by removing the modem firmware from the flash:
C3662# delete flash:mica-modem-pw.2.9.5.0.bin

I'll try to erase the flash and download all the files again...

Edited by Oleg Petrov, 24 July 2006 - 11:31 PM.

  • 0

#4 khankell

khankell

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts

Posted 25 July 2006 - 09:12 AM

The reason that this happened is because the flash image has to be the first file in the filesystem. In the directory listing you posted, the modem firmware is listed first. IOS tries to boot off the first file, and since the modem firmware doesn't have the right commands to boot the system, it would only work when you forced it to boot by using a specific file name.

I'm pretty sure that if you copy the modem firmware back to the router as it is now, you shouldn't have any problems booting it.
  • 0

#5 Oleg Petrov

Oleg Petrov

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 227 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia, Moscow
  • Interests:Intelligent networks, digital voice processing, opensource software, *NIX operating systems.<br />Also hiking, fishing, skiing .

Posted 27 July 2006 - 12:41 AM

The reason that this happened is because the flash image has to be the first file in the filesystem. In the directory listing you posted, the modem firmware is listed first. IOS tries to boot off the first file, and since the modem firmware doesn't have the right commands to boot the system, it would only work when you forced it to boot by using a specific file name.

I'm pretty sure that if you copy the modem firmware back to the router as it is now, you shouldn't have any problems booting it.


However, I explicitly specified which file to use having issued the following command under IOS:

C3662(config)# boot system flash c3660-ik9s-mz.123-18.bin
(Of course I made 'copy run start' as well)

Is it NOT enough?
  • 0

#6 khankell

khankell

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 278 posts

Posted 27 July 2006 - 04:35 AM

Unless the files got cross-linked somehow on the file system. Even though you specified the IOS image to boot, the command it not persistant across sesssions (it must be reentered every time). Look at the output of your boot log. Even though you specified the IOS image to be booted, it still tried to load the modem image first.



I'll have to dig into this a little more to find out what happened.
  • 0

#7 Justin2005

Justin2005

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 28 July 2006 - 11:27 PM

What is the config register currently?
  • 0

#8 bogdans

bogdans

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 07 August 2006 - 09:50 PM

Hy,

I had the same problem with a 2621xm router.
It seems to be a "bug" in IOS.

My problem: I have a 2621xm with 2 IOS in flash. I enter the command:
(config)#boot system flash: c2621xm-xx.12.3.bin
After I reboot the router doesn't boot! It enters in ROMMON. From there I have to enter boot flash.....to boot the router.

Solution:
Because whenever I write commands I use the TAB key to auto-complete the command, this auto-complete command entered a space character after flash: . BEcause of that space character the router does not boot.

The corect command is:
(config)#boot system flash:c2621xm.xxx.12.3.bin

The wrong command was:
(config)#boot system flash: c2621xm-xx.12.3.bin

This resolved my booting problem.
I hope it will solve yours!!

Bogdan
  • 0

#9 pulkit sharma

pulkit sharma

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 21 August 2006 - 08:33 PM

:o

Hi,
I am also facing the same problem with 3745 router which has 2 IOS in its flash..
And always when I restart it 3745 boots in rommon mode and i had to put the boot flash: 3745.x.xxx.bin.
I tried putting the command Boot system flash but still my problem persists.

Many thanks,
Pulkit
  • 0

#10 mgerdon

mgerdon

    Super Member

  • Veterans
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 981 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted 23 August 2006 - 08:15 AM

Hi guys,

are you sure you've the correct syntax applied for the boot command ?

boot system flash <filename>

ie: boot system flash c2600-adventerprisek9-mz.124-8.bin

or

boot system flash <filesystem><filename>

ie: boot system flash flash:c2600-adventerprisek9-mz.124-8.bin

The appropriate spaces are important, also writing the first 'flash' without colon.

If you change the boot parameters, be careful to delete the old entry in before if required. This differs per platform/ios, try to check with sh bootvar, sh boot or look into the running config.

regards,

Marcus
  • 0

#11 Styles

Styles

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts

Posted 24 August 2006 - 11:36 AM

Whats the rommon code you are using. A boot strap update couldn't hurt.
  • 0





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users