Jump to content


Password Recovery For Fortigate 60


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 thii

thii

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 11 October 2007 - 02:53 PM

I have a friend that use Fortigate 60 at work..However, their IT gut left the company without releasing the password for it. Does anyone know how to recover the admin password for this device?
  • 0

#2 syedabbas

syedabbas

    Hardware & Microsoft

  • Technical Experts
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 573 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Interests:Interested in Microsoft Products and in the field of networking and security. Have completed my A+,MCP,MCTS and now hoping to get my RHCE soon.

Posted 13 October 2007 - 10:47 AM

'execute factoryreset' from the CLI or Via System->status->[reset] Web-interface.

Now do this: when the initialization is done, do the following at CLI:

execute factoryreset

This will reset everything back to factory original setting including the password. Wait till the reset is finished, use admin and no password to login then do the following:

config system interface
edit internal
set ip 192.168.1.99 255.255.255.0
set allowaccess https
end

You can type in the above one line at a time until done. The "set allowaccess https" is important because without it, the unit will not be accessed though web. You may add http instead of https if you choose to.

When this is done, then use a "normal" cable (not the crossover type) and plug it into any of the internal port of the fortigate and to your PC.

Then use any internet browser and type in »https://192.168.1.99 or »192.168.1.99 depending on which allowaccess you use.

This should unlock the unit and set it back to normal. Good Luck.
  • 0

#3 Alagu

Alagu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:INDIA..currently in UAE

Posted 13 October 2007 - 11:53 PM

Hi buddy,

In this above said method, you will lost all the configuration.


Here is the simple process to reset the admin password without losing the configuration.


1. Connect the console cable to Fortigate unit.


2. Open the Hyperterminal in ur machine.


3. Reboot the firewall unit.


4- at the console login prompt, type in "maintainer" for userid

3- Type in "bcpbFGTxxxxxxxxxxxxx" for password (XXXXXXXXXXX will be the S/N of the Fortigate)

4- after a successful login, now do changes to admin password




thats it
  • 1

#4 sympa78

sympa78

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 December 2007 - 07:04 PM

Hi,

I have the same problem with a Fortigate 60 bought on Ebay. The vendor has no password no @IP adress, nothing...

I tried all the configuration even those given here but no way, it's always says login incorrect!

I'hve already work on it during more than two hours ! without success.
Here is my serial number FGT602103247278

As i said, i tried the following possibility

login : maintainer
password : bcpbFGT602103247278
or
password : pbcpbnFGT602103247278

Nothing work ! even execute factoryreset at the prompt. It can't work because at the CLI you must enter a valid login (maintainer or anything else) then a password, so you'll able to enter the factoryreset !

If somebody could help me, i'll appreciate a lot as i'm feed up !

Thank's
  • 0

#5 alex36

alex36

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 29 November 2008 - 08:02 AM

Hi,

I have the same problem with a Fortigate 60 bought on Ebay. The vendor has no password no @IP adress, nothing...

I tried all the configuration even those given here but no way, it's always says login incorrect!

I'hve already work on it during more than two hours ! without success.
Here is my serial number FGT602103247278

As i said, i tried the following possibility

login : maintainer
password : bcpbFGT602103247278
or
password : pbcpbnFGT602103247278

Nothing work ! even execute factoryreset at the prompt. It can't work because at the CLI you must enter a valid login (maintainer or anything else) then a password, so you'll able to enter the factoryreset !

If somebody could help me, i'll appreciate a lot as i'm feed up !

Thank's



* Part 1: Resetting your FortiGate unit to factory defaults. Use the information in this part to reset your FortiGate unit to factory defaults. Resetting to factory defaults means that you will be able to log onto your FortiGate unit using the admin administrator account with no password. Resetting to factory defaults also means you will loose all of your configuration settings. This is where part 2 comes in.
* Part 2: Restoring your FortiGate configuration. If you have a previously backed up configuration (stored in a configuration file), once you have access to your FortiGate unit you can restore this configuration, regaining some or all of your lost configuration settings. If you have forgotten the passwords of the administrator accounts in the backup configuration you can edit the configuration file before restoring it and remove the forgotten passwords. You can add new administrator accounts passwords after you have restored the configuration. (This will not work if you have encrypted the configuration file because you cannot edit encrypted configuration files.)
  • 0

#6 pgaona

pgaona

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 19 December 2009 - 05:10 AM

hello,

I've tried near to 20 different combinations with the password with the same login: maintainer

pcpbFGT60xxxxxxx
pbcpbnFGT60xxxxx

where xxxxx is the serial number or my Fortigate60. I have had not successful.

Remember, my objetive is reset the password of this Fortigate60.

Thanks
Porfirio Gaona
  • 0

#7 laf_c

laf_c

    Firewalls&Routing specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1787 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romania
  • Interests:Networking, tenis and chess

Posted 19 December 2009 - 06:55 AM

Hi,

The password should start with bcpb !!!!
  • 0

#8 potheus

potheus

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 25 June 2010 - 10:47 PM

* Part 1: Resetting your FortiGate unit to factory defaults. Use the information in this part to reset your FortiGate unit to factory defaults. Resetting to factory defaults means that you will be able to log onto your FortiGate unit using the admin administrator account with no password. Resetting to factory defaults also means you will loose all of your configuration settings. This is where part 2 comes in.
* Part 2: Restoring your FortiGate configuration. If you have a previously backed up configuration (stored in a configuration file), once you have access to your FortiGate unit you can restore this configuration, regaining some or all of your lost configuration settings. If you have forgotten the passwords of the administrator accounts in the backup configuration you can edit the configuration file before restoring it and remove the forgotten passwords. You can add new administrator accounts passwords after you have restored the configuration. (This will not work if you have encrypted the configuration file because you cannot edit encrypted configuration files.)


Just how do you edit the configuration file? Is there a certain reader to use?

Edited by potheus, 25 June 2010 - 10:48 PM.

  • 0

#9 laf_c

laf_c

    Firewalls&Routing specialist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1787 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Romania
  • Interests:Networking, tenis and chess

Posted 26 June 2010 - 10:05 PM

Fortigate configuration is saved in a .conf file which can be open with any TEXT Editor. I recommend you WORDPAD.
  • 0

#10 sohail akram

sohail akram

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 28 July 2010 - 09:04 AM

username: maintainer

Password: bcpbFGT-602103241860 xxxxxxxxxxxxxx (serail)

OR

Password: bcpbFGT-00090F0A7D10 xxxxxxxxxxxxx (mac-address)


FULL RESET (FACTORY DEFAULT)

'execute factoryreset' from the CLI or Via System->status->[reset] Web-interface.


Now do this: when the initialization is done, do the following at CLI:

execute factoryreset

This will reset everything back to factory original setting including the password. Wait till the reset is finished, use admin and no password to login then do the following:

config system interface
edit internal
set ip 192.168.1.99 255.255.255.0
set allowaccess https
end

You can type in the above one line at a time until done. The "set allowaccess https" is important because without it, the unit will not be accessed though web. You may add http instead of https if you choose to.

When this is done, then use a "normal" cable (not the crossover type) and plug it into any of the internal port of the fortigate and to your PC.

Then use any internet browser and type in »https://192.168.1.99 or »192.168.1.99 depending on which allowaccess you use.
  • 0

#11 aasaithambi

aasaithambi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 May 2011 - 06:46 PM

Hi,

I have the same problem with a Fortigate 60 bought on Ebay. The vendor has no password no @IP adress, nothing...

I tried all the configuration even those given here but no way, it's always says login incorrect!

I'hve already work on it during more than two hours ! without success.
Here is my serial number FGT602103247278

As i said, i tried the following possibility

login : maintainer
password : bcpbFGT602103247278
or
password : pbcpbnFGT602103247278

Nothing work ! even execute factoryreset at the prompt. It can't work because at the CLI you must enter a valid login (maintainer or anything else) then a password, so you'll able to enter the factoryreset !

If somebody could help me, i'll appreciate a lot as i'm feed up !

Thank's



This works, if the username and password are entered within 10 seconds.
example:
username- maintainer
password-bcpbFGT50B3G10621491

Thanks...

Edited by aasaithambi, 18 May 2011 - 06:48 PM.

  • 0





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users